no sleep again

Its 1130pm and here I am unable to sleep again. you would think not sleeping the night before would make it easier to get sleep the following night… well not for me. A few hours ago I was exhausted. couldn’t keep my eyes open. the biggest headache and now.. here i am wide awake.

Did you know the bible even talks about sleep? Its pretty crazy to me, how many simple things the bible talks about – who knew that God would find a lesson for us about sleep.

Here are the ones I am finding most helpful

Psalms 4:8

In peace I will both lie down and sleep; for you alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety.

When you can’t sleep is it because you wonder about your safety? did you have a dream the night before about something horrible happening and now you fear you will have that dream again? or what about something like safety with your job. afraid of hitting the snooze button too many times and not getting up.

the Lord wants us to lie down in peace! and sleep, don’t think of all the things you have to do tomorrow, don’t think about everything you could have done today instead of sitting down to relax a little bit. don’t think about the one thing you said that had the wrong tone or used the wrong words and now you replay it over and over in your head thinking of how you could have said it differently.

Proverbs 3:24

If you lie down, you will not be afraid; when you lie down, your sleep will be sweet.

Gosh that is so beautiful don’t you think?

Job 11:19

You will lie down, with no one to make you afraid, and many will court your favor.

Jeremiah 31:26

At this I awoke and looked, and my sleep was pleasant to me.

 

sleep well friends – that is God’s wish for us.

Leave a Reply

