plans

I’ve said before that I knew I wanted to be a nurse when I was just 8 years old.

I’m sure my mom knew before that, that I would be a nurse. I’ll have to tell that story sometime soon.

Anyways, I knew I wanted to be a nurse.

When I was in elementary school I thought I would go to Bethel Collage, which is a small Christian college in my hometown Mishawaka, Indiana. I was going to Boys and Girls Club and all the staff members were going to Bethel and I looked up to them all so much because they were all such amazing people and made a huge impact on my life.

Then plans changed. I grew up and realized. I want to leave get out of here. Go experience somewhere new! So high school I started looking at schools. UIndy sent me something in the mail. So I looked up UIndy. They had an INCREDIBLE nursing program. Their nursing program went on mission trips every year. All the hospitals in Indy would give me a great experience of nursing and different things to see. And they had a College Mentors for Kids chapter.

So I visited unofficially on a weekend I fell in love. I was sold. I knew that this is where I wanted to be and I wasn’t going to settle for anywhere else.

So I didn’t, I applied to UIndy and that was it. No. Where. Else!

This obviously did not thrill my mother. as I am sure it wouldn’t thrill anyone’s parents

When I started here I thought, I want to become a Nurse Practitioner one day. I want to be able to blend the nursing role and doctor role together for patients. I thought I would just do family practice.

But I had to figure out what kind of nursing I wanted to do first.

With every new clinical experience my ideas of what I wanted to do changed.

I didn’t love my medical surgical floor rotations- but I learned a lot on those floors and I got to talk to my patients a lot.

I enjoyed my labor and delivery rotation  – but I knew I didn’t want to work there.

I enjoyed pediatrics a little bit. but not enough to make that my career. Seeing sick kids hurt way too much. so props to the nurses that can do that.

surgery, endoscopy rotations now that was sweet.

talk about a thrill. It was so much fun. I loved it.

My internship during the summer as a student nurse allowed me to work in outpatient surgery and endoscopy, and I got the chance to watch some surgeries and I enjoyed that a lot.

I then tried to think of nurse practitioners and what role they could have in the surgery area.

I thought it would be awesome to be a NP for a surgeon and help with post ops and things like that.

What I’ve wanted to do has changed so much. I am in my last year of school. I have 254 days until graduation for my bachelor degree. I still have so much time to figure out what I want to be.

When one thing changes in my life I feel like i should change everything about what I want.

I saw a particular future and that is what I saw. and I can’t imagine having that same life if one part of that life changes.

So I think of all the different things I could do.

I think what if I go somewhere other than Indiana.

What if I do something completely different.

Change everything about that particular future I saw.

The great thing about becoming a nurse is that there are literally a million of different paths I could take and use my nursing degree and be successful and happy.

I just have to decide what to do.

but there is great comfort in knowing that I can find a job almost anywhere doing so many different things.

 

 

Leave a Reply

