Past, present, future. 

Are you past, present, or future orientated? 

You probably don’t need a quiz to help you determine this. 

I am 100% future oriented. 

I am someone who is always thinking how will this help me or impact me for my future. I am one who is always thinking about how a person my fit in my life 5 years down the road right when I meet them. I think about what I want my future to be like. My kids, my home, my husband, my job, my holidays, my car, my dog, the list goes on and on. 

So, I’m sitting here thinking… because I am so focused on the future am I missing out on the present? Just like people who dwell on the past are missing out on the present? What about the people who are so focused on the present, do they miss or on dreaming? Miss out on memories? 

I’m thinking there has to be that happy “balance” that everyone talks about. I can’t be focused on my future forever because then I’m always going to be dreaming 5 years ahead of myself. 

But, sometimes I think being future oriented is good. I think about the people in my life and thing where could I see this friendship/relationship in 5 years, 10 years, or what about when I am down, is this someone I rely on for that, or is this just someone who I am able to have fun with. 

I’ve had those friends and most likely still have some of those type of people in my life. The ones who are there just who are called to have fun with, not the ones that are truly there for you. 

My mom has always told me that everyone serves a different purpose in my life, but wouldn’t it be nice to have 1 person to fill all those roles? I think so. 

The person who helps with all those different mind sets. 

The past – having memories with them. 

The present- being able to talk about those memories, and make new ones, have fun, go through life with, good and bad. 

The future- be able to look forward to something 

I don’t know about you, but when I have something to look forward to it just makes things better. 

Like right now, Nick works so far from home, me working, and even when I was in school, we are really only get to see each other on the weekends  (but of course we talk all week long 🙂 )  but, throughout the week I know that I get to get through the week and then I get to spend my weekend with him we get to do something fun. 

But, even with this sometimes it is scary because I think, what if I am so focused on the future that I am not enjoying the present as much. I am so focused on my future, having a marriage, kids, a whole life, what if I am missing out on the little things. 

So, for the next week I am going to try my best to think about the present more rather than the future. 

What is your mind set?? What is good about that? What is bad?? What mind set do you wish you had more?  

2 thoughts on “Past, present, future. 

  1. I struggled with this for so long and I feel like it was the cause of my depression (thinking of past) and anxiety (worry of the future). I think more than anything, staying present is best. Like you said, balance is key! It’s good to look at the past in order to learn and improve ourselves and it’s also good to have dreams & goals for the future, but both of these happen regardless, so it only makes sense to make the best of what’s right in front of us.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

